How Do I Set Individual User Permissions?

  • Updated

We understand that Shopify stores often have a multi-layered team working behind the scenes, and that you may want to adjust what level of account access each team member has. You can easily do so in the "User Permissions" section, which is located under the Settings tab on the left hand side of your Single account. 

Screen_Shot_2021-08-12_at_2.34.50_PM.png

Adding New Users

The first thing you will need to do is create a new profile for each person on your store's team. Creating users allows you to manage who has what level of control inside of your Single account.

For example, you might have a member of your team that only needs the ability to view release info and order data, but shouldn't be permitted to create or edit albums. 

To do this, select "+ Add User" in the Permissions section.

Screen_Shot_2021-08-12_at_4.09.53_PM.png Next, add the email address of the person you want to create a new user profile for.

Screen_Shot_2021-08-13_at_11.27.12_AM.png


Setting Permissions

After entering an email address, before clicking the "+ Add User" button next to the email field, you will need to select what account permissions will be assigned to this user. You can choose from a handy set of role presets that we've included, or you can create custom roles.

Role Presets

Screen_Shot_2021-08-13_at_4.52.02_PM.png

These presets are a quick and easy way to automatically set the permissions of each category for a user:

  • Administrator: Has all permissions enabled and full control over the account, including the ability to edit permissions of other users.
  • Agent: Has the ability to see all areas of the account and the ability to export data, but is unable to create or edit content.
  • Artist: Has all permissions enabled besides the ability to edit advanced account settings or edit the permissions of other user profiles.
  • Label: Can view most sections and export data regarding digital and physical sales.
  • Management: Has very similar permissions as the "Agent" preset, but is able to create Upsell Campaigns and unable to view BoostLink financial data.

Custom Permissions

Whether you have selected a role preset as a starting point or you are beginning from scratch, you can control all individual functions that a user will have within each specific category of your Single app. Permissions options include: 

  • Edit: Allows a user to create new content or edit existing content within a category.
  • Export: Allows a user to export the data of a category as a .csv file.
  • View: Allows a user to view a particular category.
  • Financial Views: Allows a user to see a detailed breakdown of financial info (revenue, orders, billing, etc.) with the associated category.
  • Dashboard - Top Fans View: Allows a user to see a list of a store's highest spending customers on the main dashboard.
  • Digital - Generate Links: Allows a user to resend digital product download links to customers for past purchases.
  • Settings - Advanced Settings Edit: Allows a user to access the "Advanced" settings tab, which includes "developer mode" and the ability to reinstall Shopify assets.
  • Settings - User Edit: Allows a user to adjust the permissions of other user profiles (generally reserved for the Administrator of the account).
  • Settings - White Label Edit: Allows a user to edit the store's "White Label" branding that is displayed within things like the delivery emails sent to customers.

Screen_Shot_2021-08-18_at_2.23.29_PM.png

Once you have made all of the desired permission selections, click "+ Add User" to add them to the list of user profiles on your Single account. If you used one of the supplied role presets, the profile will be labeled as such. If any changes were made or permissions were selected from scratch, then the profile will be labeled as "Custom".

Screen_Shot_2021-08-13_at_4.02.11_PM.png

If you are the Single account administrator or have the "User Edit" permission enabled for your profile, you can edit or delete a user profile at any time by selecting the pencil icon on the far right side of the desired profile.

Note: If permissions changes are made, don't forget to hit "Update Permissions" at the bottom of the page to save them!

*We value your privacy and security, so please note that our support team will not be able to update the permissions of user profiles. Account administrators or users with administrative access will only be able to make such changes. Additionally, the role or permissions assigned to a user will determine what information we can provide should that individual contact us.*

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request